SportsJive
Sports fans writing about what they know best

The Masters is Underway

Jack Nailing Putts

Today is the start of the Masters…well technically not the start because of the annual par 3 contest. But today is when the actual competition begins.   I don’t claim myself to be a golf expert nor a huge golf fan, but the Masters is absolutely one of my top three sporting events to watch.  Thanks to Tiger Woods sexcapades this is expected to be the most watched Masters of all time.

You want my honest opinion?  I hate Tiger, always have and probably always will.  That doesn’t mean I don’t have respect for the man.  He’s one of the most dominant athletes of all-time, he’s near perfect.  But we all have our flaws, for most of us it’s on the course for him it’s off the course.  My respect level for the man has gone up since he was revealed as not a demi-god.   Hear me out, he’s a terrible human being for doing all he did to his family and should be scorned as such.  As an athlete and public figure I have a new respect for the man.  He coming out to the biggest tournament after going through family issues, press conferences, interviews, therapy, etc.  Where does he have time fit in the golf?  He doesn’t.  He could have waited it out till the waters died down a bit and played some minor tournaments.  But no, he goes in swinging (no pun intended).  Oh yeah, he has a new Nike ad with his deceased father, not tasteful.  I don’t like it one bit.

There are few other golfers out there playing too I guess, but as much as I hate to admit this he will be front and center of everything that goes on in these next few days.  I need my main man Jim Furyk to come up big and start winning.  No reason why, I just like the guy and his crazy-ass caddie.

Woods is slated to tee of around 1:42 pm with Matt Kuchar and K.J. Choi.

One Response to “The Masters is Underway”

Leave a comment